Student News News

Simon Stephens is among those honoured at York graduations

The first female Director of the Tate Modern and a key leader of Amnesty International are among this year's honorary York graduates.

 With the graduation ceremonies for York’s Masters Students being held this week, the
University has additionally unveiled a list of individuals to receive ‘honorary
degrees’ from the University for renowned success in their field of work.

On the cultural side, among the recipients is Frances Morris, the first female
director of the Tate Modern, who has been praised as a key innovator of the
gallery and having significantly raised its international profile. Oscar
nominated film editor, Joe Walker, was also honoured having worked on films
such as Blade Runner 2049, Arrival, and 12 Years a Slave. The director-general
of Amnesty International in Italy, Giovanni Rufini, was also recognised for his
notable work as a humanitarian academic and relief worker; he has now
undertaken over 60 missions in his nine years of humanitarian field work across
various continents.

Not to skip on awarding those in the field of academics, the University also gave honorary
degrees to Professor Dame Caroline Dean for her heavily lauded and prestigious
work as a plant biologist, along with social geographer, Danny Dorling. Dame
Caroline gained her BA and PhD in Biology at York and now works as a biologist
for the John Innes Centre in Norwich. Dorling is a renowned writer of several
books and articles that encompass issues of general social inequality in areas
such as housing, employment and education. He is also co-creator of the online
‘World-mapper’ project.

 For her work in addressing inequality in the business world, the University awarded an honorary degree to Dame Helena Morrissey. As the head of a powerful financial firm she has campaigned for a greater proportion of women to be appointed to previously male-dominated company boards; her work has shown the sign of results with the proportion of women on top company boards rising by over 15 per cent.

The special ceremony for the honorary graduates was held on 18 January and coincided with
the graduation ceremonies in York’s Central Hall. The recipients join a list
that has historically included names such as renowned BBC journalist, Bridget
Kendall, who was recognised in 2018 alongside RSC director Gregory Doran and
the award-winning playwright, Simon Stephens, who recently adapted The Curious
Incident of the Dog in the Night Time for the stage.


Stephens, who recently adapted


Curious Incident of the Dog in the

Night Time

for the stage.

You Might Also Like...

Leave a comment

Your name from your Google account will be published alongside the comment, and your name, email address and IP address will be stored in our database to help us combat spam. Comments from outside the university require moderator approval to reduce spam, but Nouse accepts no responsibility for reviewing content comments on our site

Disclaimer: this page is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.